top of page

SuperTour Finals and Spring Nationals

Event Information:

Welcome to Duluth and Spirit Mountain Nordic Center, the host site for the SuperTour Finals on March 21st -- 26th.  The Spirit Mountain Nordic Center is located at the base of Spirit Mountain in Duluth, MN.  The club host of the SuperTour Finals and Spring Nationals is the Duluth Nordic Ski Club (DXC).   We are excited to welcome clubs and athletes from across the United States.

Race Headquarters and Race Location:

Race headquarters will be located in the Grand Avenue Chalet; 8551 Grand Avenue, Duluth, MN

Hours of the race headquarters: Friday - Sunday 8AM - 4PM daily

All races are held at Spirit Mountain Nordic Center: 8551 Grand Avenue, Duluth, MN

Event Schedule:

March 21st: Classic Individual Start 10km - SuperTour Final

March 23rd: Classic Sprint - National Championship

March 24th: Freestyle Team Relay - National Championship

March 26th: Freestyle 40km/20km - National Championship

Waxing and Athlete Support Facilities:

DXC is offering two options for team waxing at the race venue.


  1. Rent A Portable Wax Trailer

We have portable wax trailers 8 x 20 available to rent.  Trailers include power outlets and power.  Power is included in reservation.  Garbage removal is your responsibility.  Dumpsters on site.  Trailers will be accessible starting Tuesday, March 19th through Wednesday March 27th, 2024.  Rentals must be reserved by March 1st, 2024.  Reservation can be made on the SuperTour and Spring Nationals registration site.  Once reservation has been submitted a payment link will be sent out via email. 

Rental costs: $2200

​2.  Self- Provided Wax Trailers and Tents

Teams that bring their own trailers or tents will have access to outdoor power hookups. Trailers, box trucks and tents can arrive on Tuesday, March 19th.  Please contact OC if you will be arriving earlier. Make your reservation for a spot and power hook up by March 10th, 2024.  Reservation can be made on the SuperTour and Spring Nationals registration site.  Once reservation has been submitted a payment link will be sent out via email.

Plug power in costs: $100

  • A designated wax area will be provided per reservation.  The wax area will be located adjacent to the ski trails.   

  • No waxing will be allowed inside the Grand Avenue Chalet. 

  • Teams should be prepared to supply their irons, tables, forms, and extension cords to accommodate their waxing needs.     

  • Tents, trailers, and service vehicles can be left in the wax area over night. A security guard will be onsite. 

Seeding, Starts, Results:



SuperTour Final:

The classic individual start race on Thursday, March 21st is NOT a National Championship race, but it is a SuperTour Final race.

  • Registration fee: $45

  • Prize money awarded only to those with a current FIS license, listed as active on the FIS website and appearing on the current FIS International Ranking list. 

  • Awards and flower ceremony will be held after the completion of the event.

Prize money - SuperTour

    1st - $750

    2nd - $500    

    3rd - $250

    4th - $200

    5th - $150

    6th - $100

National Championships:

Registration fees:

  • Classic Sprint - $60

  • Freestyle Team Relay - $60

  • Freestyle Distance - $60, registration for all three National Championship races $175.


Prize Money - National Championship:

The prize payouts for U.S Cross Country National Championship Races

First Place $1200

Second Place $600

Third Place $300


SuperTour Final

  • A flower ceremony and awards for the SuperTour race (Thursday, March 21st) will take place at the conclusion of the event.  Athletes must be present after the awards to receive their prize money. 

  • The Overall SuperTour award winners will be recognized at the athlete reception on March 24th. 

National Championship 

  • A flower ceremony will take place immediately following the events on March 23rd and 24th.  

  • Overall National Champion Awards will take place at the award ceremony on Sunday night, March 24th.  The final National awards will be given on Tuesday, March 26th after completion of the distance event. 

  • If a foreign competitor resides in the top three, two flower ceremonies will take place:

    • A ceremony with foreign competitors, collection prize money and acknowledging place.

    • A ceremony with only the U.S. citizens acknowledging the top three winners of the U.S. Championships event.



All U.S. resident competitors in the SuperTour and National Championship events must have valid U.S. Ski & Snowboard licenses, including foreign-born athletes competing for U.S. colleges. Canadian and other athletes and coaches living outside the United States need only valid FIS licenses. This requirement is the responsibility of the athlete. 

Coaches, Suppliers and Media and Field of Place Access (FOP):

USSS Coaches: registration is required, free.  Register HERE

A USSS assigned bib required to be worn by all USSS coaches.

USSS Suppliers: registration is required, free.  Register HERE 

Temporary bibs will be issued to those who do not have USSS bibs and have registered.  $50 fee if bib is not returned. 



Athletes/Coaches bibs can be picked up in the Grand Avenue Chalet race mornings from 8AM to 10AM.  Time subject to change.


Trailhead Rules, Spectators and Parking:

The Spirit Mountain Nordic Center and Grand Avenue Chalet offers great viewing of the racecourse and stadium.  The current parking available at the Spirit Mountain Nordic Center is about 100 cars.  Limited parking is available across the street from the Spirit Mountain Nordic Center.  No parking is allowed on Grand Avenue.  Parking is also available on the side streets of Grand Avenue; 83rd, 84th and 85th Avenue West.  Be cool and ride the bus, Route 2.  Route 2 goes past the Lake Superior Zoo and has ample parking.  Please plan on parking being tight and share a ride if possible. 


The Grand Avenue Chalet is handicapped accessible and will be open all day. The Riverside Bar and Grill will open at 11AM. Across the street from the race venue in the SkiHut parking lot will be food trucks ready to serve you.  


Restrooms are available inside the chalet and multiple porta-potties outside. 

Dogs are NOT allowed on the ski trails or at the venue.  


Spectating is only allowed in spectator areas. 


Emergency Procedure:

Spirit Mountain Ski Patrol and Medical professionals will be on - site for all race and inspection days. 


Come join the fun and have the best seat in the house.  Volunteers make this race series happen.  



Organizing Committee:

Chair of the OC: Siiri Morse

Chief of Competition: Gary Larson

Venue Manager and Groomer: Tom Straka

Technical Delegate: 

Technical Delegate Assistant: Anne Van Fossen

Chief of Course: Henry Campbell

Chief of Stadium: Ben Bauer

Chief of Timing: Dave Johnson

Race Secretary:

Timer: Superior Timing

Medical Coordinator: Dr. Dave Hutchinson

Asst to Chief of OC: Joe Haggenmiller

Media and Communications: Jordan Woods

bottom of page